St. John's Lutheran Church

In the City for Good!

St. John's Lutheran Church participates in God's mission to bless, save, restore and reconcile the world through meaningful worship and faithful witness in the city of Des Moines and around the world.

St. John's Lutheran Church invites and welcomes all people to experience the Good News of God's grace, forgiveness and unfailing love. The Good News calls and empowers us to share God's love in word and deed throughout our city, nation and world.

High School Ministry: Grades 9-12

Our high school students have the opportunity to gather together on a regular basis throughout the school year. You will find an overview of our program schedule listed below. For details please contact our Director of Youth Ministry, Noah Niermann. We hope you can join us! 

fall & winter, 2016

  • Wednesday, August 31: Cookout at Pastor Bob's House.
  • Sunday, September 11: OWL Program Begins. Parent Orientation.
  • Sunday, September 18: No Activities Scheduled.
  • Sunday, September 25: Afternoon Excursion to Ledges State Park.
  • Sunday, October 2: No Activities Scheduled.
  • Sunday, October 9: OWL Class 1. First Class.
  • Sunday, October 16: OWL Class 2.
  • Sunday, October 23: OWL Class 3.
  • Sunday, October 30: Confirmation Sunday. No Events Scheduled.
  • Sunday, November 6: OWL Class 4.
  • Sunday, November 13: OWL Class 5.
  • Sunday, November 20: OWL Class 6.
  • Sunday, November 27: Thanksgiving Weekend. No Events Scheduled.
  • Sunday, December 4: OWL Class 17.
  • Sunday, December 11: OWL Class 8.
  • Sunday, December 18: OWL Class 9.

winter & spring, 2017

  • Sunday, January 8: OWL Class 10.
  • Sunday, January 15: OWL Class 11.
  • Sunday, January 22: OWL Class 12. 
  • Sunday, February 12: Auction Planning & Prep.
  • Friday, February 24: Youth Auction!
  • Sunday, February 26:  Spring Break Retreat Orientation. 11:30 - 1:00
  • Sunday, March 5:  No Activities Scheduled.
  • March 10 to 15:  Spring Break Retreat to Rainbow Trail Lutheran Camp.
  • Sunday, March 19: No Activities Scheduled.
  • Sunday, March 26: Rooted Orientation #1. 12:00 to 2:00
  • Sunday, April 2: No Activities Scheduled.
  • Sunday, April 9: Palm Sunday.
  • Sunday, April 16: Easter Sunday! Christ is Risen!
  • Sunday, April 23: No Activities Scheduled.
  • Sunday, April 30: Rooted Orientation #2. 12:00 to 5:00 (offsite)
  • Sunday, May 7:  Wilderness Canoe Base Orientation #1. 12:00 to 5:00 (offsite)
  • Sunday, May 14: Mother's Day. No Activities Scheduled.
  • Wednesday, May 17: End of Year Party at Pastor Bob's House. 5:00 to 8:00
  • Sunday, May 21: Graduate Recognition Sunday.

Summer, 2017

  • Sunday, June 4: Rooted Orientation #3. 12:00 to 2:00
  • June 11 to 18: "Rooted" A Partner Synod Journey
  • Sunday, June 25: Wilderness Canoe Base Orientation #2. 12:00 to 2:00
  • Sunday, July 16: Wilderness Canoe Base Orientation #3. 12:00 to 2:00
  • July 24 to 31: Wilderness Canoe Base Trip

All dates and activities are tentative and subject to change. Please see weekly newsletter for important updates!

 600 6th Ave. Des Moines, Iowa  50309 - 515.243.7691 - a member of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America